New DOJ Elder Justice Task Forces to pursue nursing homes providing poor care

The United States Department of Justice (DOJ) has announced the launch of 10 regional Elder Justice Tasks Forces to “coordinate and enhance efforts to pursue nursing homes that provide grossly substandard care to their residents.” The Acting Associate Attorney General Stuart F. Delery stated in the press release, “Millions of seniors count on nursing homes to provide them with quality care and to treat them with dignity and respect when they are most vulnerable.” He further noted that this initiative is to protect the elderly from some providers who “put their own economic gain before the needs of their residents.”

The task forces will be comprised of representatives from the US Attorneys’ Offices, State Medicaid Fraud Control Units, State/local prosecutors’ offices, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), State Adult Protective agencies, LTC Ombudsman programs as well as law enforcement.

Task for locations will be based on districts of the US Attorney’s Office Districts:

  • Northern District of California
  • Northern District of Georgia
  • Western District of Kentucky
  • Northern District of Iowa
  • District of Maryland
  • Southern District of Ohio
  • Eastern District of Pennsylvania
  • Middle District of Tennessee
  • Western District of Washington

The new Elder Justice Task Forces are an integral part of the DOJ’s Elder Justice Initiative by helping with investigative and enforcement efforts against nursing homes and other LTC entities that are providing “grossly substandard care” to residents.

Visit the US Department of Justice Website to learn more about the department’s Elder Justice Initiative.

Reach out today and let's get started!

Urgent Compliance Concern? Call CMSCG

(631) 692-4422
cmscg podcast. five-star quality

Contact CMS Compliance Group

© 2011-2024 CMS Compliance Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy